Pokharan…. a place famous for negative science and technology

DSC_5459_pp

Pokaran is a small town in Jaisalmer district of Rajasthan, India. I did not know about it before India conducted nuclear test here on 11th and 13th May 1998. That was indeed a special time for Scientists and Defence persons in India and for civilians too. Scientists proved that they can do it, Government shown the metal that they can stand with it in front of big powers in this world and civilians had a feeling of security. I remember civilians celebrated this occasion in almost every city and they were proud on achievement of our scientists. I did not find any clue of arrogance or aggression among any person of India be it civilian or defence officers or Government officers. It was a feeling of being self reliant, secured, determined and committed towards country and humanity.

Every thing has its own power and wisdom lies with beholder how to use it. Nuclear power is a wonderful source of energy for human beings but due to presence of bad elements in the world who can and have willingness to use it for destructive purposes, this wonderful source has been kept in abeyance. Otherwise we would have no shortage of fuel and energy in this world.

I had forgotten this name again after the tests. It was only recently when I travelled to Jaisalmer in December of 2014 and I found this city on the way to my destination. I was so curious to touch this place and breath in its air, to relive the proud I had 16 years ago. It was only this time I searched and read about this city in detail and came to know that this town has historical importance too. Literal meaning of Pokhran is “place of five mirages”. This town has a fort named as “Balagarh fort”. It has some beautiful havelis too.

Pokharan

I wanted to see the spot where nuclear test was conducted but very less I knew about it. I was told by locals here that nuclear test site is under control of Army, its barricaded in some kilometers, under strict supervision of army and no civilian is allowed to enter that site. How fool I was, never thought that such site can not be left unguarded by Army. Moreover that spot is inside Army firing range, anyway a guarded and secured area. Apart from reasons that there may be harmful radiations for human beings and animals, its also guarded as spies of other countries are always trying to sneak into that area and collect information. Recently I came to know that Pakistani Intelligence agency ISI is still trying to get sand samples from this area and conduct laboratory tests on it.

DSC_5484_p

I could have not reach test site anyway, hence I did not even try it and passed through this city on highway no. 15 and was contend by touching earth of the area, breath in that air, getting clicked with mile stone having name of Pokharan on it….

2 thoughts on “Pokharan…. a place famous for negative science and technology

Leave a comment